Reviews

Woman Seeking: Target Beauty Box 2015

A short time ago I saw a blogger/Instagrammer (I can’t remember!) post about the Target Beauty Box being available, so I jumped online and ordered myself one. For $5 and free shipping, I figured why not? Although these boxes are currently unavailable, I thought I would do a mini overview on what I received and my first thoughts. I haven’t tried all the products so I can’t do a full out review, though I’m sure as time goes on I will do one product reviews or have some of the products in empties videos. Here are my thoughts so far!

  
First, this isn’t a subscription. This is a one time beauty box offer. I ordered it directly of the Target website. It also arrived very quickly, in less than a week! This was a huge plus for me, as I dislike waiting for packages to arrive for weeks. As you can see, it comes in a sleek black cardboard box with “Target Beauty Box” on the outside. When you open it up there is a description card listing the products and how to use them. There were four sample/travel size products and one full size product. All the travel sizes were impressive, except for the Neutrogena. At 0.25 oz, it looks a little pathetic nestled among the other products, but I’m assuming you must not need to use much at once. And really, at $5 for the whole box, I’m not complaining the least bit! Also included were two coupons: one for 20% off and a complimentary gift at DermStore.com, and one for $3 off a beauty department purchase of $15 or more at Target. I’m not sure if I’ll use the DermStore coupon, but the Target coupon will come in handy. After removing the inserts, the products are loosely wrapped in red tissue paper, a nice touch that makes it feel quite special, in my opinion. 

  
The first product that caught my eye when I pulled back the tissue paper was the Shea Moisture Superfruit Complex 10-in-1 Renewal System w/Marula Oil & Biotin Shampoo. Oh man what a long name! The bottle is 3.2 fl oz worth of product, which for me means it will last for a while. Definitely more than one time use, and long enough for me to get a real feel for the product when I try it out. I did tear off the protective foil on the inside and it smells wooonderful! It reminds me of some kind of Bath and Body Works product, but I can’t put my finger on which at the moment. I don’t know much about this brand, but the bottle claims the product is cruelty free and includes organic and “ethically trades ingredients sustainably produced.” So there is that. It also has no sulfates, parabens, synthetic ingredients or synthetic colors, among other things. Honestly, it just smells so good and I can’t wait to use up my current shampoo so I can test this out!

  
Next is a sample of Neutrogena’s new(ish) HydroBoost Gel-Cream for Extra-Dry Skin. Again, at 0.25 oz it’s the smallest of the samples, but since I don’t have extra dry skin I’m not too upset. I usually save products like this to use around my nose when I have a cold, or as somewhat of an overnight moisture mask. This comes out a milky white color, and the name nails the consistency, gel-cream. When I mix my Clinique Dramatic ally Different Gel with the Lotion version during the winter, this is close to the consistency I get. I like that it’s very…water full. Not watery, mind you. It dried quickly on my hand and had just the slightest of scents. It includes Hyaluronic acid and is fragrance free, oil free, dye free, and non comedogenic. I’m hoping this will me a good product to use in the winter when my skin can get a bit dry, but the rich creams for dry skin are too rich for my acne prone skin. 

  
Next there is a travel size Extra Firm Control Hairspray from TRESemmé. I prefer lighter hold hairsprays but this is a good product to include for a general beauty box. I don’t have a lot to say about this, to be honest. I’ve used it before, and it works and is a nice product, it’s simply just more hold than I prefer. It will be nice to use for special events or to throw in a weekend bag if I don’t want to take my regular size hairspray. 

  
I showed this box to a friend, and she was most intrigued by the Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray from L’Oreal. This 3.4 fl oz sample is generous (the travel size from Urban Decay, for instance, is only 1 fl oz.). It’s sprayed evenly when we tested it, though it did have a “hairspray” smell to it, so much so I questioned if it w as actually for the face and not for hair. I haven’t tested it for real, simply spritzed it to see the force of the spray and if there was a scent. Makeup setting sprays are slowly making their way into drugstores, and I’m very interested in giving this a go. 

  
Last but not least is a full size lip product from Maybelline, the Color Elixir by Color Sensational Lip Color in (090) Rose. I love that the packaging shows the true color of the product, making it easy to find or distinguish if you have multiple colors of the same product. It kind of smells like Trix cereal, but it does not taste that way! I don’t notice the smell once it’s applied, but do notice it if I kiss the back of my hand and then smell my hand. This is a thick gloss that doesn’t feel sticky to me in the least, and gives just a bit of color. I’m not sure if darker or brighter colors would show up more intensely, but I was happy the Rose color was included since that is probably the color I would have picked out myself. I’m a fan of the applicator, as well. It’s soft and moves easily, whether I want a broad swipe of color or a more precise application. 

I think this is well worth the $5 I spent, and am happy I was able to snag one this year. I have a soft spot in my heart for Target, as I’m sure many of you do as well, and they did not disappoint me. A great deal, great products I’m actually interested in trying out, and speedy service. If I did ratings, I’d give this a 10/10! 

XOXO, WSM

Standard

One thought on “Woman Seeking: Target Beauty Box 2015

Leave a comment