Reviews

Woman Seeking: A Bite Beauty 5 Night Fix for Lips Review

A while ago I stumbled upon Bite Beauty’s 5 Night Fix for Lips duo while in Sephora. I had eyed their famed Agave Lip Mask before, but the price was pretty high and I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money. In general, I really like Bite Beauty products and have yet to be disappointed with a purchase. My lips were needing a little TLC, so I grabbed this and ran to the checkout before I had a chance to change my mind. If you remember, this was part of my Mall Haul post (which you can find here). 

This set contained sample size amounts of Bite’s Agave Lip Mask and their Whipped Cherry Lip Scrub. I’m not sure if the set is supposed to contain a 5 night supply of products, or is only marketed to fix your lips in 5 nights, but either way, although these are small sample sizes, I found I didn’t need that much product so this set should last quite a bit longer than just 5 nights. I do have medium to small lips, so obviously if you have a greater space to cover than I do you’ll go through this more quickly. 

The Whipped Chery Scrub is normally sold in a pot, but is packaged as a mini stick form for this set. This isn’t something that particularly bothers me, but it is weird to try out a sample of something that’s not exactly like it is sold. I could see how this would bother some people. If you like the scrub specifically because it comes in a stick version and then are told that a stick lip scrub isn’t sold as a full size product by the company, it could definitely be annoying. Perhaps they are working on selling a full size version of the stick style scrub in the future? Who knows. While I do love cherry, I am not a big fan of cherry scented anything and this was no exception. The scent falls somewhere between artificial candy and medicinal. The scrub itself was…interesting. The grains are sugar sized (I do not think they are sugar, at least I didn’t see it on the ingredients, nor taste it) and they do a decent job of exfoliating. The butters and oils it’s mixed with leave a slight film on the lips, but in a good way. I feel like if you didn’t have dry lips and were using this for exfoliating, the scrub is simply leaving behind a little nourishment to your lips. I really liked that. I can see why it’s packed in a pot as opposed to a stick, however, because while using the stick should make things easier and less messy, I found that even with light pressure the product would be pushed over the edge of the tube, leaving me needing to wipe it off. I usually wiped it off onto my lips and then used my finger to continue exfoliating. The only stick exfoliator for lips I’ve used prior to this was from ELF and I never had that problem with theirs, so this was a bummer. If I bought the regular version, I would be using my finger anyways so it wouldn’t be an issue, but for the stick I don’t like that I need to get my hands dirty. My only other gripe is the taste. Bite Beauty is proud of the fact their products are 100% natural and made with food grade ingredients, but this is the lesson for you that just because something CAN be eaten, doesn’t mean it should. Perhaps I am spoiled by my Lush and ELF products, but this is not something I ever want to lick off my lips. To be fair, I don’t see anything from the company recommending you do. It just left me standing there awkwardly debating what to do. I don’t want to use water to rinse away the leftover beads because of the nourishing ingredients, but using a washcloth has me feeling like I should have just skipped the scrub and just used a washcloth to exfoliate in the first place! I usually end up kind of smearing it all over the back of my hand and then washing my hands. Overall, I’m super not impressed with the lip scrub. I think there are plenty of better products (both stick and pot form) out there that I enjoy using. I will not be purchasing a full size. 

The Agave Lip Mask is what redeems this little set for me. As much as I had wanted to try it before, I kind of equated it to a fancy Vaseline. My friends, it is not. For starters, this is much thicker. I really had to squeeze the tube to get the product out. Although thick, it spreads easily. For the thickness, I didn’t feel like it was sticky. I could still talk and open and close my mouth as a I normally would without any goobs or globs or messiness. I’m not someone who really minds a bit of stickiness, so if you’re someone who is very sensitive to this you may have a different opinion than me, but I found it to be very comfortable to wear. Initially I used this only at night, but have found myself throwing this on during the day as well, both alone and under other lip products. I felt like this rehydrated my lips as well. When I started using this, I had cuts at the sides of my mouth due to an unfortunate spoon accident (note – if you have a metal spoon that goes through the disposal, toss it. I thought it was fine and threw it in the dishwasher like it was no big deal, but that son-of-a cut my mouth UP. I looked like the Joker). It was super painful and nothing was really working to heal it, but leaving it without balm or salve on it in order to let it scab (ew) was wrecking my lips. I started using this and it somehow it allowed the cuts to heal up while also hydrating my lips. The product also has just a hint of sweetness to it. Not so much that I was licking my lips to get to it, therefore defeating the purpose, but just enough that if it got in my mouth I wasn’t repulsed. And I really only needed a pea size amount, if that. Even with continuous use I still have about 3/4 of the sample size tube left. I feel like if I bought the full size version, I wouldn’t have to repurchase for at least a year, if not longer. And that is if I was using it every single day. It is pricy, but I am definitely considering purchasing the full size. 

To sum up, it is a great little set…but only because of the lip mask. I also feel like the jar it comes in is missing something. There is room enough to add a third sample products, maybe a mini lipstick? While this is promoted for overnight use and you don’t really wear lipstick or lipgloss overnight, I think a lipstick or gloss meant to be worn the next day to continue the healing or to show off your new kisser would round it out. Bite Beauty makes a product called BB for Lips that I think would have been perfect to include. I think the price of the set is a smidge high for two mini products, especially when I only recommend one of them. However, if you are like me and can’t afford a full size version of the mask, this is a great alternative. 

XOXO, WSM

PS – Sorry about the complete lack of pictures! I didn’t think to do a before/after. Bad blogger, bad! 

Standard

5 thoughts on “Woman Seeking: A Bite Beauty 5 Night Fix for Lips Review

  1. I love the Agave mask, but I ordered this set after I had run out and I ended up returning it because the scrub was terrible. At least in a stick form it came across as completely useless the few times I tried it. I would reorder just the mask though since it’s great to put on at night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

