Reviews

Woman Seeking: A New Favorite High-End Cleanser

As many of you know, when it comes to face wash I am all about the word “gentle.”  On the list of things I look for in a good cleanser, “gentle” is fighting for top spot wth “effective.” It’s THAT important to me. I’ve been happy with my Neotrogena Ultra Gentle face wash and Purpose face wash for some time now, but occasionally I get samples of different facial cleansers from Sephora. Typically the sample is a one or two time use packet, and that isn’t enough to sway me to plop down double or triple the cost of my usual cleanser to road test a higher end one. A few months back Sephora had a duo set from Ole Henriksen that included a travel pack of facial wipes and a 1.5 fl oz version of his African Red Tea Foaming Cleanser. After finishing the bottle of Neutrogena that I had open, I decided to test it out and I couldn’t be more pleased. 

This is described as an anti-aging foaming cleanser that is suitable for all skin types. While I typically dislike and don’t understand how a cleanser can work for all ranges of skin types, I feel like this claim comes closest to those claims. I’m unsure how it would work for those with extremely dry skin, but (in my opinion) this really would work for anyone from normal to combination to oily. Most foaming cleansers tend to be drying, but I did not feel that way at all. While it wasn’t moisturizing, I felt like my skin felt…well…normal after washing my face, which is exactly what I look for. 

I expected this to smell more tea-like, but this has more of a citrus scent. I don’t know what African Red Tea smells like, but this reminds me of Constant Comment tea if that helps. I didn’t find it to be too overpowering, and the smell didn’t linger on my face. I especially appreciated the scent in the mornings when it helped me feel awake and fresh. 

I was most impressed with how this cut through my makeup. I was dubious that a simple pump or two would be enough, and went with two pumps my first time, but have used one pump ever since because it is so effective! The first time I used this I had on a full face of makeup and this took everything off the first try. Now, I didn’t use this on my eye area, so I can’t speak to its effectiveness on mascara. The foam goes on nicely then almost disappears, but leaves enough evidence on the skin that you can see where you have or haven’t washed. I was wearing primer, Maybelline Fit Me foundation (matte and poreless, if you’re curious), powder, bronzer, and Urban Decay All Nighter Spray, not to mention eyebrow pomade, and this took every last bit off. I didn’t have to rub and scrub either. I massaged the cleanser into my skin for about 45 seconds, per usual, and then rinsed. I followed with a cotton round soaked with Micellar water just to be sure, and not a single swipe of color was left on my face to show up on the cotton round. And yet using this witho any makeup on doesn’t leave me feeling overcleansed, just perfectly clean and comfortable. Marvelous!

I’ve been using this just shy of a month now, and while I can’t say my skin has improved exactly, it didn’t break out nearly as bad as it normally does around that time of the month either, which I consider a win. It’s been a bit of a crazy month, too, so I’m interested to see how my skin behaves when it’s a NORMAL month. I thought this performed very well under the circumstances. I also can’t speak to its anti-aging properties, but…well I don’t look older! Although this is a pricy cleanser, I’m honestly considering purchasing this in the future. I’m not even halfway don’t with the 1.5 fl oz bottle after a month, which means a little goes a long way and the full size 7 fl oz bottle will last quite a while. I have a few other facial cleanser samples as well as a bottle of my typical Purpose cleanser to use up first, but I’m so excited about this cleanser. There is something about a high-end cleanser that just makes a girl feel fancy and pampered!  

Have you ever tried this cleanser? Have you tried any other Ole Henriksen products? Let me know what you think!

XOXO, WSM

Standard

3 thoughts on “Woman Seeking: A New Favorite High-End Cleanser

  1. Thanks for sharing this find! Ya girl is always on the hunt for a good face wash. I actually just found a nice high end-ish wash and maybe I am overzealous but I already wrote a rave blogpost on it too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

