Reviews

Woman Seeking: A Mascara Resurrection by Urban Decay Review

I’m trying a little something new here on the blog today and reviewing one specific product. Urban Decay recently came out with what they call the Urban Decay Mascara Resurrection mascara refresher. The idea is that if you make a mistake, or want to add another coat later on to make your office appropriate eye look more intense for your after hours drinks, you can use this serum to correct and refresh your mascara without having to mess up the rest of your eye makeup. I hadn’t heard too much about this product and it seemed like such an intriguing idea that on a recent trip to Ulta I redeemed some of my points so I could try it out for myself.

IMG_0693

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this product. In my head, I thought of it as somewhat of a makeup remover in a tube. I’d never really thought to use some makeup remover on an old mascara wand to fix a mistake, and while that idea seemed smart, buying a separate product for just this seemed a tad gimmicky. I had used a questionably old tube of mascara the morning I purchased this, which had a thick formula even when it was fresh, so my eyelashes had gotten a little clumpy. I figured this would be the perfect time to put the Mascara Resurrection to the test.

IMG_0692

The product itself is a milky white serum that has no color once applied. One thing I noticed immediately is that it has an unpleasant smell. A very strong unpleasant smell. It sort of reminds me of nail polish remover, though not exactly. It is quite off-putting. It didn’t linger on my eyes once I applied it and it dried, but I could definitely smell it from the moment I twisted the wand out of the tube. The brush is natural bristle and curved, such as a curling mascara wand would be. I’m on the fence to whether or not I like this. It’s great in the way that it will help keep a curl, but it general curved brushes aren’t my favorite as I have a harder time getting every lash because the curve is usually too round for my eyeshape.

But did it work?

IMG_0696

I had applied my makeup/mascara at about 9:45am and went to use this at about 4:00pm, a little over 6 hours later. Although I did need more than one quick coat, this serum really did separate and refresh my mascara. I really liked the way my mascara looked once I had refreshed it, to the point that I prefer how my mascara looked after 6 hours and with a refreshing serum than when it was freshly applied on it’s own! And it isn’t just a remover of sorts – not one speck of my black mascara came off on the white coated Resurrection brush. I found it best to really get in there and wiggle the brush at the base of your lashes, use one cost, then give it a couple seconds to penetrate your old mascara before continuing.

To sum up…

PROS: refreshes mascara, fixes clumps, doesn’t erase other eye makeup, inexpensive (compared to high end mascaras), unique product, natural bristle brush (these are my favorite)

CONS: smells bad, curved brush, pricy (compared to drugstore mascaras)

While I don’t consider this a “must have” item, it sure is a handy little product to own. Although I’m glad I was able to test it for free (more or less, I had to spend money to rack up those points!), I can see myself purchasing this again in the future. I’m curious to see if other brands come out with a similar product in the future. Have you tried Urban Decay’s Mascara Resurrection? What were your thoughts?

XOXO, WSM

Standard

3 thoughts on “Woman Seeking: A Mascara Resurrection by Urban Decay Review

  1. Love the before and after photos – it made such a difference!

    This is an item that is perfect for wedding season (which, admittedly, is usually only a couple months long in Michigan and far away from now), when people are shutter happy and we all need to stay looking our best without looking overly made up.

    Any recommendations for how to not have mascara bleed/flake onto skin? That is my major mascara problem.

    Like

    • I try to use a waterproof formula as well as eye primer, and powder around my eye area. For example, topping any liquid, pencil, or gel eyeliner with a matching eyeshadow right over the line, and using a little face powder under my eyes. This stops the smudging for me, and if I get any flakes they are easy to brush off because they land on the powdered area as opposed to stick to your skin!

      Like

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later
    on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have a nice holiday weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

