Empties

Woman Seeking: January Mascara Empties

As I mentioned in y previous post, I get rid of any old mascara every three months. Occasionally I will keep a tube for longer, but I try to never keep a mascara any longer than six months. Mascara is one of the easiest products to get bacteria built up in it, and I don’t want to risk any infections or problems because I was too busy to buy a new tube. While we’re on the subject, if you are to get an infection, whether it’s caused by your makeup or not, throw out any tubes of mascara you had been using and open a new, fresh tube. Also, never share mascara, for any reason, with anyone. If someone borrows your mascara on accident, throw it in the trash and get a new one. I know it can be painful, especially if it’s a brand new tube and you love it, but it’s not worth the risk. It just isn’t. But enough of the lecturing.

I am a drugstore mascara girl. It’s not to say that I don’t like high end mascara, but because I usually have more than one mascara opened at a time, and throw them out every few months, it can become a money-suck very quickly. I rarely buy mascara that costs more than $10, and I like to catch the buy 1, get the second 50% off deals, and use coupons. The money I save on mascara can be put towards a new highend palette or lipstick, and many times I get a free travel size mascara as a bonus. This is how I’m able to give into my highend mascara lust without blowing all my money on something I have to throw out three months later. I know some people feel the exact opposite and that’s more than ok too, this is just how I do things. All this being said, if I really want to try something, or fall in love with a product, I don’t have a huge problem spending the money, but I do try to buy the travel size for $10 as opposed to the $23 full size if possible. I have quite a few mascaras to toss out this month, so without further ado, here are my thoughts…

IMG_0653

Too Faced Better Than Sex – This mascara is loved by many, but I was disappointed. I’m not sure if I got an old tube or opened it when I first bought it to look at the brush, then closed it and reopened it much later thinking I had never opened it before or what, but I found this really dry, and it caused my lashes to clump like crazy. I liked that it was a natural bristle brush, and although I was worried the hourglass shape would make it hard to get the baby lashes it the corners, I did t find that a problem at all. I just wasn’t crazy about the formula. I have a full size tube of this coming as a free bonus for something else I ordered, and I’m curious to see if the formula really just isn’t my cup of tea, or if I accidentally got an old tube.

IMG_0654

Benefit Badgal Lash – When I first tried this, I wasn’t a fan. The second time, however, I fell in love. The brush is a huge natural bristle brush, which is my favorite type. It did a great job building volume. Benefit constantly has mascara as their bonus item free with purchase and I can’t wait to get another one.

IMG_0652

Benefit They’re Real – I love using this in combination with Benefit’s Badgal. I think they go together perfectly. They’re Real has a plastic bristle brush, which isn’t my favorite, but it does a good job combing out lashes and keeping things long and defined. I have another travel size of this same mascara, so I’m interested in trying this out on it’s own or along with some other mascaras to see if it doubles up well with some of my other volumizing formulas. I prefer the Badgal over They’re Real, but I also have log lashes and could use the volume more than any lengthening properties.

IMG_0650

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes – I was pleasantly surprised by this mascara. This was my first Tarte product ever and it made a great introduction to the company. The wand has a natural bristle brush that was fairly small, enabling me to really get in there and grab every last lash. The smaller size also made it easy to use on my bottom lashes. I had to be careful to be wearing some kind of powder on/under my lids to control any oil, because I found it did tend to have issues with smearing if I wore this alone.

IMG_0651

Maybelline Full ‘N Soft (waterproof) – I love this mascara. I buy it again and again. I like the natural bristle brush, and I like the formula. I prefer to buy the waterproof as it helps hold my curl better, and this mascara is good by itself and under others. Maybelline is one of my favorite brands for mascara, and this is a staple for many, myself included.

IMG_0649

Maybelline The Mega Plush Volum Express (waterproof) – This isn’t a bad mascara, but I won’t be repurchasing. The natural bristles on the brush were a little too long and it made me feel like I didn’t have too much control. The wand itself also had this flexible hinge, which I didn’t like and don’t understand the point of. I like to bend my mascara wands so I can push up as opposed to pull, but the hinge didn’t allow me to do that, and made the whole thing way too springy. The formula was nice, plumping and lengthening my lashes, with the waterproof holding my curl, but the wand ruined it for me.

Most of these mascaras were winners, with only two that I didn’t like, and only one out of the two that I’m not willing to give another chance. That being said, the only one I’m for sure going to repurchase is the Full ‘N Soft. I’m still on the hunt for my Holy Grail mascara, so if you have any mascaras I should try leave a comment below!

XOXO, WSM

Standard

5 thoughts on “Woman Seeking: January Mascara Empties

  1. HoneyBlondeBeth says:

    May I just say that I love your blog? What girl doesn’t like great makeup reviews?? 😀 I also have tried Maybelline and I use it every day. The Tarte Lights Camera Action mascara is great for a more dressy look. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

