Empties

Woman Seeking: January Empties

A new month, a new bag full of my trash! January is the month of fresh starts and resolutions. Not only do I have my regular empties, January also means it’s also time to toss my tri-monthly products, like toothbrushes and mascara. I like to keep myself on a system with these things, otherwise I can never remember when I opened something or when I should be throwing it away. If I start in January, it makes it way easier to remember to get rid of old products. I’m actually going to do a different post on the mascaras I am done with, so keep an eye out for that. For now, here are the things I used up and are getting the ol’ heave-ho this month!

IMG_0609

Mario Badescu A. H. A. Botanical Body Soap – I mentioned this in my Cleansers and Exfoliants post during last week’s Skincare series. This is a mild body wash formulated especially for body acne. I think it does a good job keeping skin clear without overdrying. It doesn’t have an amazing scent, but it’s lack of added fragrance isn’t awful because fragrance can be an irritant to the skin. It doesn’t smell bad, mind you…it just smells like old school soap. I also just noticed the bottle says to “store in a cool dry place” which I find hilarious because it’s a body soap, to be used in your shower, which is probably the least cool or dry place in your entire home? Haha, anywho, I’ve already repurchased this.

IMG_0610

Neutrogena Alcohol-Free Toner – I’m so sad about this! I loved the packaging, I loved the price, and I loved the scent, but I just did not love this product. It wasn’t bad, it didn’t sting or dry out my face, but I don’t feel it really did anything good either. I stopped using this for a bit, and there was no difference. I like my skincare products mild, but this was toooooo mild, even for me. If you have decent skin, and just want that little extra, then I think this product would be good. It’s not a bad product, I’ve just found something that works better for me, so I won’t be repurchasing.

IMG_0608

Vaseline Total Moisture Body Lotion in Cocoa Radiant – I am on the fence about this lotion. I think it did what a lotion is supposed to do and kept my skin soft, but it was a little thin for my taste, and for as thin as it was it took a really long time to dry. It confused me on whether I should use this for night or day. It was light enough for daytime use, but it’s lack of drying made me want to use it at night, even though it really wasn’t hydrating enough for a night lotion. Also, I am not in love with the scent. I think I’ll probably end up buying another Vaseline lotion to give it another chance in the future, but I won’t buy this specific one.

IMG_0627

Up & Up (Target Brand) Cotton Rounds in Regular – These are one of my favorite cotton rounds. The price is right, and they work wonderfully. That may sound ridiculous, but I have tried the cotton squares from Ulta thinking off brand was off brand, but was horribly proven wrong. Those were the worst cotton squares, rounds, or balls I have ever used. So cheaply made, I could have gotten better quality at the dollar store. The Up & Up brand are big enough to be comfortable but not awkward, and they don’t break down and leave little pieces of cotton all over your face. I didn’t repurchase these this time, but that was simply because I wasn’t going to Target when I ran out. Highly recommend. (Sidenote – Cartwheel, the coupon app by Target, frequently has coupons for these)

IMG_0614

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads – This is another product I mentioned in my Cleansers and Exfoliants article, so I’m not going to go into too much detail here. They work great, don’t burn, don’t scratch, and have a pleasant scent. Plus they’re eligible to use a coupon on at Ulta. Definitely will, and already have, repurchased.

IMG_0612

Lorac Cococin Cream Compact Foundation – This was my second Lorac product and it was so bad! Sooooooo bad! I should have included this in my regrets post but it was already in my January trash bag so I completely forgot about it. This is the hardest product to work with. It has a hard and dry top layer, so I had to warm it up with my finger first, and when I finally got some product, it didn’t cover and looked cakey and broke down all at the same time! Ridiculous. I got this on sale and now I know why. The only thing I liked about this product was the packaging, it had a huge mirror on the inside, and the case was magnetic so it snapped close nice and tightly and cannot be shaken open even if I try really hard. Between this and the limited edition eyeshadow mini palette, I’ve been so put off of Lorac products. If anyone has a Lorac product they stand behind 100% please let me know! because I want to give the brand one more try since it is so highly praised by many, but the next thing I buy HAS to be good or I give up.

IMG_0613

L’oreal Total Repair 5 Restoring Shampoo – I really like this! I got about 7 shampoos out of this sample size and liked what it did to my hair in that time. I found I had less shedding both in and out of the shower, but it didn’t make my hair greasy (which in all honesty is what I was expecting to deal with because of my thin, fine hair). This is the next full size shampoo I will be purchasing, so we’ll see how a full size goes!

IMG_0616

Macadamia Natural Oil Deep Repair Masque – I split a 4 oz. sample packet of this into two containers and forgot to keep the packet for this article, sorry about that one! Either way, I didn’t like this. It did leave my hair with more shine, but it made my hair feel dry and stripped, which is so odd. I love Macadamia’s Flawless product (like a cleansing conditioner) and kind of expected this to be that just more hydrating and intense, but it definitely was not. I will not be repurchasing.

IMG_0611

Sephora Fiber Mask in Rose – One of my skincare staples. This is a sheet mask I can rely on. I’ve bought it multiple times and have given it as a gift. It is super hydrating, and leaves my skin feeling soft and plump and healthy, and the effect lasts a couple of days. I have yet to have a pimple caused by the intense hydration, too. I will repurchase for myself and for others.

IMG_0615

Benefit The Porefessional – I cannot praise this product enough. I used to use a color correcting primer to help combat my redness, but have switched to this and deal with any color issues separately. I love the way this feels, and it truly minimizes my pores, which is a big problem I have. It smells nice, too! I don’t find myself getting oily with this either, although I don’t think it claims to have any oil fighting properties so this is just a personal bonus. Although the price tag is high, a little goes a long way, and you can buy the sample size if you’re watching your pennies. I still have some more sample sizes of this, but when I run out I am planning on purchasing this.

IMG_0618

Oral-B Pulsar Toothbrush – We can’t forget about our oral hygiene! I actually really liked this toothbrush. It cleaned well, and didn’t vibrate too intensely or too loudly. I can only ever find this in dual packs, however, which is kind of annoying. I went with another brush when I replaced this for that reason, but actually regret it because I don’t like the new one as much, so I will probably buy this one again next time.

IMG_0617

DenTek Tongue Cleaner – Oh yeah, I’m that girl who brushes not only her teeth, but gums and cheeks and roof of her mouth as well. So of course I have a separate product for my tongue! I swear it helps keep your breath clean and who doesn’t like a pink tongue?! Is that weird? Whatever. I used this type for a long time but was recently introduced to a kind I think works even better, so I won’t repurchase, but this is a solid product.

And that’s it! Out with the old, in with the new. Some I replaced, and some are becoming beloved staples. Before I sign off, I want to thank all my readers. This first month of blogging has been a huge learning experience, and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. I am thrilled to reach five hundred views after only being public for two shorts weeks, and I obviously couldn’t do that without all of you continuing to read and support me. This next month I’m going to be trying out new formats, trying to make my site cleaner and easier to navigate!

XOXO, WSM

Standard

2 thoughts on “Woman Seeking: January Empties

Leave a Reply

