Ulta Haul

Woman Seeking: An Ulta Haul

Recently I went to Ulta to pick up one very specific product, and somehow ended up walking out with…well, much more than that one product (at least I did remember to get what I went there for! Yay me!). I have a LOT of points racked up, and a coupon, so I don’t feel too guilty about giving in to my impulse buys. Without further ado, here’s what I picked up.

2015/01/img_0336.jpg

Essence Eyeshadow in 78 Vanilla Milkshake – On my way to the skincare aisles, just what do I happen to pass but the Essence cosmetics endcap full of little clearance stickers. Of course I had to stop and see if there was anything I could use. The store near my house was out of many things, but they did have a fewof the single eye shadows left that were on sale for $0.59! Sometimes Essence eye shadows can be a little too glittery for my taste (though the color payoff for even the extra glittery shadows is phenomenal), they did have this vanilla shade that that is described as having a "shimmer effect." It's a beautiful neutral shade that gives a nice shimmer without being crazy. I feel like Essence products are kind of like Germany's answer to Wet 'n' Wild, with more hit than miss products at an extremely low price point. Let me know if you'd be interested in a one brand post focused on Essence cosmetics below!

2015/01/img_0337.jpg

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads – I finished up my first canister of these the first few days of this month, but because I had a little bit of non- alcoholic toner left over from before, I decided to put off purchasing a new canister of discs. I was not overly psyched about these for some reason, even though I did figure I’d plan on picking some new ones up. The only other types of product like this either costs a little more than I’m willing to spend on something I’m not sure is doing what it says, or is stronger than I really want to use. However, after almost two weeks without using these pads I am very glad I decided to buy more! My skin has started getting a few pimples the past couple of days, and I haven’t changed anything else in my skin routine so I think these helped me more than I realized. They do claim to be retexturizing, which I desperately need, so I’m hoping with continued use, I will see a bit more of an improvement in a few months.

2015/01/img_0338.jpg

Tarte Maracuja Oil – After swatching eyeshadow after eyeshadow after eyeshadow (I’m currently trying to decide which palettes to buy with various points and gift cards I have at various stores), I needed a makeup remover wipe like no other. Since I was in the “prestige” area, I grabbed an eye makeup remover wipe from Tarte. A bit later I went to swatch something else (of course) and couldn’t believe how soft the back of my hand was! I wasn’t sure if it was the wipe or just because I was rubbing so many things on and off, so I went back and got another wipe and tested it out on my arm. Soooo soft. While I couldn’t justify spending my money on specialty eye wipes, I COULD spring for the travel size bottle of Maracuja oil. I’ve been wanting to test out an oil for a while now, and I finally took the plunge and bought myself one. It’s going to be a bit before I get around to testing it, because I need to get my skin used to having the Glycolic Fix discs back in my life, but when things have settled down I am definitely going to put this baby to the test.

2015/01/img_0339.jpg

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Blush – Another product I’ve been wanting to try for a bit. This past summer I used Suave’s version, which isn’t bad at all, but I feel like it kind of dried out my scalp a bit, so I went off of it and haven’t used any dry shampoo in a while. I’ve heard people rave about Batiste, but wanted to catch it when it was on sale at TJ Maxx or Marshall’s. Unfortunately, my hair was a hot mess today and I realized I really need to pick something up. I scoffed when I saw the price Ulta was charging per bottle (sorry Ulta!), and was going to just give up and grab a trusty bottle of Suave to tide me over when low and behold I spotted a travel size version at a price I could get on board with. Strictly financially, travel size versions are usually a complete rip off, buuut I’m a person who’d rather spend a bit more per comparative ounce for a travel size to test something then spend a even MORE money (even if I get more for my money) for something I don’t end up liking. Does that make sense? I hope so. Either way I’m pumped I found the travel size so I can see how this performs.

2015/01/img_0340.jpg

Yes To Blueberries Age Refresh Cleansing Facial Towelettes – I’ve used these in the past and can’t remember if I like them or not, and am testing various makeup wipes for a future post, so I grabbed a travel pack of these while I was waiting in line. They are more of a natural product and paraben-free. So. Yes. Not much to say, I have to test them out.

2015/01/img_0341.jpg

Neutrogena Make-Up Remover Cleansing Towelettes – The same goes for these makeup wipes, although I do believe I remember liking these. It’s been so long since I used a makeup remover wipe, and I felt I needed to keep everything on an even playing field, so I picked up a pack of these in order to be fair. Plus, the travel pack of this was right next to the travel pack of the Say Yes To wipes, so it was easy to grab one of each. And like I said, I had a coupon so these were basically free, even before I used any points.

2015/01/img_0342.jpg

Get This Top Knot (Ulta Hair Kit) – Perhaps the biggest impulse buy as well as the biggest steal, I grabbed this from the sale display stands right by the counter. Originally $20, I grabbed this for under $10. It had quite a few products from brands I’ve been curious about. Each individual product is worth $5-$10, so at $20 it was already a good bargain, so when I saw it for half off I was unable to resist. I consider the Bun Ease basically a throwaway product for me. As I have such thin, fine hair I can’t imagine that working for me without looking ridiculous, but who knows I might be surprised. And it does come with a couple hair pins and a hair tie and seriously, who couldn’t use more of those? The kit also comes with root pump mousse, volume spray, iron guard spray for protection from thermal tools, and repairing lotion. There is also a coupon inside for a cut & style from the Ulta salon for only $25, but it expires at the end of the month, and I prefer to go to a different place, so I probably won’t take advantage of it. Either way, it’s not too shabby of a kit for a measly ten bucks. Now I just have to wait until some of the prestige cosmetics have their holiday kits go on sale!

If I add up the price of each item before sales or points, and without tax, the total comes to just under $60. Luckily I did not have to pay that. It’s always nice when you can have a mini haul without going broke. I’m happy I was able to restock some products I already like, as well as grab some new things to try out.

XOXO, WSM

Standard

Leave a Reply

